Back to top

Newspapers

Quick Links

I'm looking for...

Digital Access during COVID-19

How to access digital versions of publications you might normally read in the library

Quick Links

I'm looking for...

Historical Wisconsin newspaper articles:

Newspaper Archive contains close to 30 million scanned pages from 1852 to two years prior to this current year. Includes the Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, and many other regional papers. Not all newspapers and dates are represented, but it’s certainly worth a look.

Current local newspaper articles:

Newspaper Source Plus (1997-present for Madison newspapers). At this time, Newspaper Source Plus does not include the Capital Times archive.

Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers (2005 to the present—Capital Times and Isthmus included), with a delay of 90 days.

Madison.com (Please note that there is an article limit for free access. If you need help accessing a specific article or topic in the Wisconsin State Journal, Ask a Librarian online or call our reference line at 608-315-5151, toll-free 888-266-7805)

Madison365.com

Current national newspaper articles:

Pressreader. Includes Wisconsin (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel), national, and international newspapers and magazines

US Newsstream. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Afro-American (D.C.), and more, in addition to local Madison papers.

New York Times Digital. Full access to articles on NYTimes.com and the NYTimes app.

Washington Post. Full access to the Washington Post online.

Digital Access during COVID-19

Print newspapers are currently unavailable in our buildings, but you can still access the following publications online -- some may require you to log in with your library card. If you have questions, please call our reference line at 608-315-5151 (toll-free 888-266-7805) or Ask a Librarian online.

Last updated: November 2020



Newspaper

Location

Afro-American Newspaper (Washington D.C.)

US Newsstream (Apr 2006-previous week's issue)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Badger Herald

Archive of WI Newspapers (Mar 2005-90 days ago)

Type newspaper title into search bar on the right-hand side of the gray box

Barron's

US Newsstream (1988-present)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Capital City Hues

Archive of WI Newspapers (Mar 2007-90 days ago)

Type newspaper title into search bar on the right-hand side of the gray box

Capital Times

NewspaperARCHIVE (1917-2017, some gaps)

Archive of WI Newspapers (Mar 2005-90 days ago)

Type newspaper title into search bar on the right-hand side of the gray box

Cap Times website (current news; please note that there is an article limit for free access)

Chicago Tribune

US Newsstream (Dec 1996-present)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Pressreader: type "Chicago Tribune" in search bar

Christian Science Monitor

US Newsstream (Jan 1980-present, some gaps)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Pressreader: type "Christian Science Monitor" in search bar

Isthmus

Archive of WI Newspapers (Mar 2005-Mar 2020)

Type newspaper title into search bar on the right-hand side of the gray box

Isthmus website (current news)

Madison365

Madison365 website (current news)

Madison Times

Archive of WI Newspapers (Mar 2005-Oct 2016)

Type newspaper title into search bar on the right-hand side of the gray box

Middleton Times Tribune (Weekly)

Archive of WI Newspapers (Mar 2005-Oct 2017)

Type newspaper title into search bar on the right-hand side of the gray box

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Pressreader: type "Milwaukee Journal Sentinel" in search bar

New York Times

New York Times Digital 

USA Today

US Newsstream (Feb 1997-present)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Wall Street Journal

US Newsstream (Jan 1984-present)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Washington Post

Washington Post

Wisconsin State Journal

NewspaperARCHIVE (1852-2019)

Madison.com (current news; please note that there is an article limit for free access)

US Newsstream (Sept 1995-present, with one day delay)

Click 'Publications' and search for newspaper title

Obituaries

Obituaries in the Wisconsin State Journal can be obtained in a variety of ways. See our Obituaries page for more information.

All Newspaper Databases

A collection of more than 200 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Newspapers are searchable and are included cover to cover in PDF format. Titles include the Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Isthmus, and Madison Times, among others. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost includes thousands of indexed magazines, many full-text, for over fifteen years. Magazine coverage ranges from the popular to the academic. Also includes electronic content on auto repair, medical information and much more. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
Access magazines just as you would on paper in this magazine database. Get the app to read magazines offline. Includes copies of Entertainment Weekly, People, Rolling Stone, and many, many more. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to users with a subscribing library as their home library and in-library at all subscribing libraries. To use the app, you will need to login with your library's user ID and password. Check with your library for this information.
Historical newspapers from newspapers spanning over 200 years, including The Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal and many other local papers. An invaluable primary resource for historical research and a unique tool for genealogists. | more info »
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 1,400 full-text newspapers, providing more than 55 million full-text articles. This database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers. Videos and podcasts are coming soon. Newspaper Source Plus also brings critical news content with ongoing updates though out the day with its News View component. Updates throughout the day include popular sources: AP (Associated Press) Business Wire CNN Wire PR Wire UPI (United Press International) Xinhua (China) News View also includes more than 1,111,000 TV & Radio News Transcripts from top sources: ABC News (American) ABC (Australian) CBC (Canadian) CBS News CNBC CNN CNN International FOX News MSNBC National Public Radio PBS Newspapers Include: Christian Science Monitor Star Tribune (Minneapolis) The Times (UK) USA Today The Washington Post The Washington Times (DC) | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and Panama. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
Read the world’s great magazines and newspapers online for free with your Library card. Access thousands of international publications using a web browser or mobile app. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to cardholders with a subscribing library as their home library and in-library at all subscribing libraries.
New York Times
All the news that's fit to print. Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, etc... | more info »
This resource is available remotely to users with Madison Public Library as their home library. After using our link, you can create a free account for short term access. Use our link again as needed.
Washington Post
Expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary. Real-time Q&A Discussions providing a behind the scenes look at key stories. Live-streaming of Washington Post Live events, where top-level government and business leaders, emerging voices, and newsmakers discuss the most pressing national and global issues of the day. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to users with Madison Public Library as their home library. After using our link, you can create a free account for short term access. Use our link again as needed.
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.

Newspaper Websites

Madison news and events. Includes Cap Times and Wisconsin State Journal. | more info »
Madison365 logo
Madison365 aims to represent Greater Madison’s communities of color, and to foster dialog between members of diverse communities. | more info »
The Division of Library, Archives and Museum collections acquires, preserves and provides access to documentary and artifactual evidence about the history of Wisconsin, the United States, and Canada. | more info »