Back to top

Health & Medicine

Community health organizations and reputable resources for health and medical information

Library Databases

EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost includes thousands of indexed magazines, many full-text, for over fifteen years. Magazine coverage ranges from the popular to the academic. Also includes electronic content on auto repair, medical information and much more. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
Use EBSCOhost Health Resources to search the full text of nearly 300 consumer health periodicals. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
A perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. | more info »
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.

Health & Medicine Websites

Find out if you are eligible to receive help through Wisconsin's health and nutrition programs. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
The Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC) of Dane County provides information about resources and support on all aspects of life related to aging or living with a disability. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
Find Madison detox, inpatient, and outpatient rehab centers. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
Find out if your doctor is Board Certified | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
Federal agency for medicare and medicaid information and statistics. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
Covering Wisconsin is a nonprofit organization that helps people in Wisconsin find and use health insurance. Their Health Insurance Navigators provide free help any time. Contact a Navigator by calling 608-261-1455 or schedule online. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
The goal of the Dementia Crisis Program is to reduce the likelihood that persons with Alzheimer’s disease or other cognitive deficits who experience a behavioral crisis will need to leave their home of choice. To learn more about the Dane County Dementia Program, please contact call the APS Helpline at 608-261-9933. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
Journey provides care for those experiencing addictions, mental illness, and mental health crises. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
From this page you can access a variety of information on programs and services in Wisconsin for older people and caregivers. A brief description of each service is available. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.
The Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups (CWAG) is the largest, most effective grassroots coalition of senior organizations in the country. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users.

Related Resources

Live Well @ Your Library

Reach your wellness goals through our workshops by the community, for the community