Back to top

Books and Literature

Library Databases

The Collections include books that are published or distributed in the United States and Canada and in print when the current H.W. Wilson Core Collection volume went to press. Original paperback editions and paperback reprints of some essential titles unavailable in hardcover are included. | more info »
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.
A wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers and presses. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
The EBSCOhost eBooks collection (formerly NetLibrary) includes the searchable full text of over 8,000 online books. Fiction and nonfiction are included. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
A full-text database combining information from many sources in one unique location. Plot summaries, articles, author biographies, book reviews, novels, literary journals, short stories, poems, and much more. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
Looking for something to read? NoveList has recommendations, reviews, plot summaries, and other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
NoveList K-8 meets all the fictional reading needs of kids (0-18) and includes picture books, chapter books, and young adult titles. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
A custom Safari Books Online library that contains a specially-tailored subset of 200 titles from Safari Books Online's extensive library. Safari Books Online has many best-selling, top-rated computing and technology books. | more info »
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.
Generate enthusiasm for children's and young adult books with this multimedia-rich website full of book readings, author interviews, book reviews and more. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.
Tumble Book Library
A collection of animated talking picture books, read-alongs, books, quizzes, lesson plans, and educational games which is used by thousands of schools and public libraries in over 100 countries across the world. | more info »
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.
Worldcat is a database of millions of records describing books and other library materials from around the world. Use it to find items you are unable to find in LINKcat. | more info »
This resource is available remotely to all cardholders of any South Central Library System member library and in-library at all member libraries.

Related Resources

Literacy and Tutoring

Literacy and tutoring services at the library

Outerlibrary Loan (OLL)

Can't find something in LINKcat? Request it from another library!

Talking Books

Audiobooks and brailled materials

Books / Music / Film

Explore library collections, book club kits, and more