Back to top

Science Fiction winners

Cover of Hugo Awards Announced
A review of Hugo Awards Announced by

The 75th World Science Fiction Convention took place a week ago and the winners of their awards, the Hugos, were announced on August 11th and some great choices were made.

The winner for Best Novel was N.K. Jemisin's The Obelisk Gate. This is a second in a series, so you might want to start with The Fifth Season (which also won awards). But I'm telling you, if you haven't read Jemisin, you should. Whether you're a fan of Science Fiction or not. She is one of the strongest writers out there today. And I know that's saying a lot.

Best Novella went to Seanan McGuire's Every Heart a Doorway - and if you listen to my friend Heidi, this is definitely a must read. She loved this one.

One other I'll mention specifically and that's Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening by Marjorie Liu for Best Graphic Story - this one just because I enjoy Marjorie Liu (though I haven't read this one).

The rest of the winners can be found here.

Aug 18, 2017