Back to top

ALA Youth Media Awards Announced

Cover of ALA Youth Media Awards
ALA Youth Media Awards

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults, including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards at its Midwinter Meeting and Exhibits in Seattle today. 

In an effort to bring awareness about and encourage the creation of more books that depict diverse cultures, or by authors of color, the ALA highlighted titles selected by the American Indian Library Association (AILA)Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), and the Association of Jewish Libraries (AJL).

A list of 2019 award winners follows:
  • John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature - Merci Suárez Changes Gears written by Meg Medina.
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children - Hello Lighthouse illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall.
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award to the publisher of the outstanding translated book - The Fox on the Swing is the 2019 Batchelder Award winner.  Originally published in Lithuanian as Laime Yra Lape, written by Evelina Daciūtė and illustrated by Aušra Kiudulaitė. Translated by The Translation Bureau and published by Thames & Hudson, Inc.
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book -  Fox the Tiger written & illustrated by Corey R. Tabor.
  • Pura Belpré Author Award (cosponsored by REFORMA) for outstanding writing by a Latino author - The Poet X written by Elizabeth Acevedo.
  • Pura Belpré Illustrator Award (cosponsored by REFORMA) for outstanding illustration by a Latino artist - Dreamers illustrated & written by Yuyi Morales.
  • Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children - The Girl Who Drew Butterflies: How Maria Merian’s Art Changed Science written by Joyce Sidman.
  • Michael L. Printz Award for literary excellence in young adult literature - The Poet X written by Elizabeth Acevedo.
  • YALSA Award for Excellence in NonfictionThe Unwanted: Stories of the Syrian Refugees written by Don Brown.
  • Odyssey Award for outstanding audio book - Sadie produced by Macmillan Audio, written by Courtney Summers, narrated by Rebecca Soler, Fred Berman, Dan Bittner, Gabra Zackman, & more.
  • Coretta Scott King Author Award for outstanding writing by an African American author - A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 written by Claire Hartfield.
  • Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award for outstanding illustrations by an African American artist - The Stuff of Stars illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Marion Dane Bauer.
  • Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience - Rescue & Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship written by Jessica Kensky and Patrick Downes and illustrated by Scott Magoon wins the award for young children (ages 0 to 8); The Truth As Told By Mason Buttle written by Leslie Connor is the winner for middle grades (ages 9-13); Anger is a Gift written by Mark Oshiro is the winner for teens (ages 14-18).
  • Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award for English-language children's and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience - Julián is a Mermaid by Jessica Love and Hurricane Child by Kheryn Callender.
  • William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens - Darius the Great Is Not Okay written by Adib Khorram.

New recognition this year:

  • American Indian Youth Literature Award presented by the American Indian Library Association (AILA) - will be added to the ALA Youth Media Awards Announcement beginning in 2020.
  • Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature presented by the Asian/Pacific Americans Librarians Association (APALA) - Drawn Together written by Minh Lê and illustrated by Dan Santat wins the award for picture book; Front Desk written by Kelly Yang is the winner for children's literature; and Darius the Great is Not Okay written by Adib Khorram is the young adult literature winner.
  • Sydney Taylor Award presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries (AJL) - All-of-a-Kind-Family Hanukkah written by Emily Jenkins and illustrated by Paul Zelinsky wins the award for young readers; Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster by Jonathan Auxier is the winner for older readers; What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper is the winner for teens.

View all 2019 winners and honors on the American Library Association website.

Jan 28, 2019