Back to top

ALA Youth Media Awards Announced

Cover of ALA Youth Media Awards
A review of ALA Youth Media Awards by

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults, including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards at its Midwinter Meeting and Exhibits in Denver today.

A list of 2018 award winners follows:
  • John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature - Hello Universe written by Erin Entrada Kelly
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children - Wolf in the Snow illustrated and written by Matthew Cordell.
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award to the publisher of the outstanding translated book - The Murderer’s Ape is the 2018 Batchelder Award winner. Originally published in Sweden as Mördarens Apa the book was written and illustrated by Jakob Wegelius, translated from Swedish by Peter Graves and published by Delacorte Press.
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book -  Charlie & Mouse written by Laurel Snyder and illustrated by Emily Hughes.
  • Pura Belpré Author Award (cosponsored by REFORMA) for outstanding writing by a Latino author - Lucky Broken Girl written by Ruth Behar.
  • Pura Belpré Illustrator Award (cosponsored by REFORMA) for outstanding illustration by a Latino artist - La Princesa and the Pea illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal and written by Susan Middleton Elya.
  • Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children - Twelve Days in May:  Freedom Ride 1961 written by Larry Dane Brimner.
  • Michael L. Printz Award for literary excellence in young adult literature - We Are Okay written by Nina LaCour.
  • YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction - Vincent and Theo:  The Van Gogh Brothers written by Deborah Heiligman 
  • Odyssey Award for outstanding audio book - The Hate U Give written by Angie Thomas and narrated by Bahni Turpin.
  • Coretta Scott King Author Award for outstanding writing by an African American author - Piecing Me Together written by Renée Watson.
  • Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award for outstanding illustrations by an African American artist - Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Kwame Alexander with Chris Colderly and Marjory Wentworth.
  • Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience - Silent Days, Silent Dreams written and illustrated by Allen Say wins the award for young children (ages 0 to 8); Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess written by Shari Green is the winner for middle grades (ages 9-13); You’re Welcome, Universe written and illustrated by Whitney Gardner is the winner for teens (ages 14-18).
  • Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award for English-language children's and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience - Little & Lion written by Brandy Colbert and The 57 Bus written by Dashka Slate.
  • William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens - The Hate U Give written by Angie Thomas.

View all 2018 winners and honors on the American Library Association website.

Feb 14, 2018