Library Board

The Madison Public Library is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, appointed for three year terms by the Mayor of Madison. The Board's authority to oversee the policies and direction of the Library is derived from Chapter 43 of Wisconsin statutes. The Library Board works in conjunction with the Mayor, library staff, and the Madison Common Council to plan, fund and implement public library service in Madison. See meeting schedule. To contact all members of the library board, please email

Members of the current Board are:

President - Jaime Healy-Plotkin
Vice-President - Phil Grupe
Secretary/Treasurer - Eve Galanter
City Council Member - Ald. Barbara Harrington-McKinney
MMSD Representative - Lisa Hempstead
Jair Alvarez
Cindy Fesemyer
Philip Grupe
Alyssa Kenney
Joseph Rosas

View upcoming meetings on the City of Madison's Committee Meeting Schedule. View all past agendas and minutes through the City of Madison's Legislative Information Center.