Back to top

Library Board

The Madison Public Library is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, appointed for three year terms by the Mayor of Madison. The Board's authority to oversee the policies and direction of the Library is derived from Chapter 43 of Wisconsin statutes. The Library Board works in conjunction with the Mayor, library staff, and the Madison Common Council to plan, fund and implement public library service in Madison. To contact all members of the Library Board, please email

Board Members

  • President - Eve Galanter (term expires 6/30/23)
  • Vice-President - Cindy Fesemyer (term expires 6/30/22)
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Michael Ford (term expires 6/30/23)
  • City Council Member - Ald. Juliana Bennett (term expires 4/18/23)
  • MMSD Representative - Lisa Hempstead (term expires 6/30/22)
  • Jair Alvarez (term expires 6/30/22)
  • Jaime Healy-Plotkin (term expires 6/30/22)
  • Jolynne Roorda (term expires 6/30/24)
  • Alyssa Kenney (term expires 6/30/24)
Board Agendas & Minutes 2021
December 2 Agenda  
November 4 Agenda  
October 7 Agenda  
September 2 Agenda Minutes
August 5 Agenda Minutes
July 1, 2021 Agenda Minutes
June 17, 2021 - Budget Review Agenda Minutes
June 3, 2021 Agenda Minutes
May 6, 2021 Agenda Minutes
April 1, 2021 Agenda Minutes
February 25, 2021 Agenda Minutes
February 10, 2021 Agenda Minutes
January 7, 2021 Agenda Minutes

View upcoming meetings on the City of Madison's Committee Meeting Schedule. View all past agendas and minutes through the City of Madison's Legislative Information Center. View the Bylaws of the Library Board.


Recent Library Board Statements:

2022 Operating Budget Message, September 9, 2021 [PDF]

2021 Operating Budget Message, August 6, 2020 [PDF]

Madison Public Library Board Is Committed to Racial Equity, June 5, 2020