A public library version of the popular Ancestry.com that contains census data, passenger lists, and birth, marriage and death records. Search by name, by where a person lived or browse by region or states.
Databases - History
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to all.
EBSCOhost includes thousands of indexed magazines, many full-text, for over fifteen years. Magazine coverage ranges from the popular to the academic. Also includes electronic content on auto repair, medical information and much more.
HeritageQuest provides access to genealogy records and books, including census data, local histories, tax rolls, cemetery lists, military rosters, and more.
Instant access to a full-text history reference database featuring reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, including photos.
Historical newspapers from newspapers spanning over 200 years, including The Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal and many other local papers. An invaluable primary resource for historical research and a unique tool for genealogists.
Use Newspaper Source Plus to find full text for many U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, ABC News, and PBS.
Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and Panama.
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s
The Wisconsin Historical Society has partnered with Ancestry to provide free access to selected Wisconsin government records for family history research.
Overdrive developed this new site just for Kids and Teens. It complements the main digital library site.
Download audiobooks, eBooks, music and videos directly to your computer or for use with a variety of devices. Fiction and nonfiction are included, and many popular titles are available.