Back to top

Elephant and Piggie Read-Alikes

Discover new characters and stories to laugh and be silly with!

Cover of Baloney and Friends
Greg
Pizzoli
Disney-Hyperion
2020

Baloney and friends step into spotlight and embody all the charm of childhood in three short tales and three mini-comics that invite readers to join the fun!

Cover of Guess What!? (An Unlimited
Mo Willems
Hyperion Books for Children
2021

Zoom Squirrel and the Squirrel pals are looking forward to going to the beach.

Cover of Narwhal, Unicorn of the Se
Ben
Clanton
Tundra Books
2016

A happy-go-lucky, waffle-loving narwhal and a cynical, no-nonsense jellyfish forge an unlikely friendship and share adventures while exploring the ocean together.  Other titles in this series include “Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt” and “Narwhal’s Otter Friend”.

Cover of See the Dog: Three Stories
David
Larochelle
Mike Wohnoutka
Candlewick Press
2021

What happens when a cat tries to be a dog? With this second wry primer, the creators of See the Cat return to demonstrate that standing in for a friend can be trickier than expected.

Cover of  Yasmin the Super Hero
Saadia
Faruqi
Hatern Aly
Picture Window Books
2019

Yasmin gathers a cape and mask and sets out to find a villain to defeat with her "super powers"--however there are no villains hiding on her block, just neighbors who need a little help.

Cover of Jack at Bat
Mac
Barnett
Greg Pizzoli
Viking
2020

Jack is relegated to being the bat boy during the big game.  Until there’s a tie and Jack needs to make a hit....can he do it?

Cover of The Chicken Who Couldn't
Jan
Thomas
Beach Lane Books
2020

Chicken has fallen out of Farmer's truck! He can't possibly get himself all the way home...can he?

Cover of My Kite is Stuck
Salina
Yoon
Bloomsbury
2017

Loud and in-charge Big Duck, quiet and clever Little Duck, and friendly and gentle Porcupine are back in another charming trio of stories in the “Duck Duck, Porcupine” Series.

Cover of Nothing Fits a Dinosaur
Jonathan
Fenske
Simon Spotlight
2021

After being told no drama and to put on his pajamas, the dinosaur is unimpressed and romps around the house undressed since human clothes are much too small for such a mighty dinosaur.

Cover of I'm On It!
Andrea Tsurumi and
Mo Willems
Hyperion Books for Children
2021

When Frog and Goat turn a simple game into an all-out competition, things get out of hand...until finally, they're over it.

Cover of Training Day
Raúl the Third
Versify
2021

Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! These eye-popping illustrations will appeal to comic book fans and encourage visual literacy, with an easy-to-follow mix of Spanish and English vocabulary words.

Cover of Fly Guy and Fly Girl: Nigh
Tedd
Arnold
Cartwheel Books
2020

When Buzz and Liz visit the zoo, their pets Fly Guy and Fly Girl go looking for food, and find the Creatures of the Night exhibit, where they see animals that would like to eat them.