Back to top

Elephant and Piggie Read-Alikes

Discover new characters and stories to laugh and be silly with!

Cover of Croc and Ally: Friends For
Derek
Anderson
Penguin Workshop
2018

Croc is grumpy. Ally is happy. Croc sees a problem. Ally finds a solution. Whether it's choosing new chairs, going for a walk, or looking for the moon, these best friends will always work together despite their differences.

Cover of Narwhal, Unicorn of the Se
Ben
Clanton
Tundra Books
2016

A happy-go-lucky, waffle-loving narwhal and a cynical, no-nonsense jellyfish forge an unlikely friendship and share adventures while exploring the ocean together.  Other titles in this series include “Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt” and “Narwhal’s Otter Friend”.

Cover of Grumplets and Pests
Asia
Citro
Marion Lindsey
Innovation Press
2019

Zoey and Sassafras are ready for a great summer.  But why is everyone so grumpy?  It’s a mystery to be solved!

Cover of  Yasmin the Super Hero
Saadia
Faruqi
Hatern Aly
Picture Window Books
2019

Yasmin gathers a cape and mask and sets out to find a villain to defeat with her "super powers"--however there are no villains hiding on her block, just neighbors who need a little help.

Cover of Moby Shinobi and Toby, Too
Luke
Flowers
Scholastic
2020

In rhyming text, Moby Shinobi and his dog Toby head to the beach for a day of fun.  Are Moby’s ninja powers helpful at the beach?

Cover of Juana & Luca’s Big Probl
Juana
Medina
Candlewick Press
2009

Juana loves her life in Bogota with Mami and her dog, Lucas. But, then Mami announces that she and Luis are engaged. Juana likes Luis, but is uncertain of what these changes will bring. Based on the author’s life experience.

Cover of Adventures of Zip: Come in
David
Milgrim
Simon Spotlight
2020

Zip likes to zap. Zip likes to play. Will Zip come in at the end of the day?

Cover of Jack at Bat
Mac
Barnett
Greg Pizzoli
Viking
2020

Jack is relegated to being the bat boy during the big game.  Until there’s a tie and Jack needs to make a hit....can he do it?

Cover of My Toothbrush is Missing
Jan
Thomas
Houghton Mifflin
2018

When Dog’s toothbrush goes missing, his friends help him look for it.  Featuring Jan Thomas’s wonderfully wacky humor, rowdy repetitions, and hilarious characters, this book is sure to have young readers laughing out loud!  Titles in the “Giggle Gang” series also include “What’s Chasing Duck” and “What Will Fat Cat Sit On?”

Cover of Harold and Hog: Pretend fo
Mo
Willems
David Santat
Hyperion
2019

Can the friendship of best friends Harold and Hog, a carefree elephant and a careful hog, survive a game of pretending to be Mo Willems's Elephant and Piggie?

Cover of My Kite is Stuck
Salina
Yoon
Bloomsbury
2017

Loud and in-charge Big Duck, quiet and clever Little Duck, and friendly and gentle Porcupine are back in another charming trio of stories in the “Duck Duck, Porcupine” Series.