Back to top

MADreads

Posts by Molly W

Who is your favorite character from The Office?

Cover of The Office BFFs: Tales of
A review of The Office BFFs: Tales of The Office from Two Best Friends Who Were There by Jenna Fischer and Angela Kinsey

My favorite character from The Office is Oscar Martinez. Also, they are all my favorite character. I've watched all nine seasons twice (more about that later) and could talk about The Office all day. It turns out, the actors who portray the characters Pam and Angela could talk about it all day, too, and they do on their Office Ladies podcast!

Jul 10, 2023

La baguette magique

Cover of I Always Think It's Foreve
A review of I Always Think It's Forever: A Love Story Set in Paris as Told by an Unreliable But Earnest Narrator by Timothy Goodman

This book created by award-winning graphic artist Timothy Goodman is visually stunning. It's a hybrid graphic memoir of when the author moves to Paris in 2019 to take a break from everything and unexpectedly meets the love of his life. You might guess from the title of the book that the author always thinks his relationships are going to last forever when in reality they are never forever. This book is about that, one man exposing his heart and soul and the details of a crushing short-lived romance.

Jul 3, 2023

Bringing icons back to life

Cover of WARHOLCAPOTE: A Non-Fictio
A review of WARHOLCAPOTE: A Non-Fiction Invention by Rob Roth

Andy Warhol and Truman Capote planned to write a smash Broadway play together in 1978. The two friends recorded approximately 80 hours of their conversations as an artistic experiment. The project was never completed and the tapes were filed away and inaccessible to the public at the Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh. After Andy Warhol's death in 1987, over 3,000 cassettes recorded on Andy's Sony Walkman were discovered. The tapes were undated and had little or no notations and had been recorded by somewhat stealthy means so were not "legal" to listen to until 2037 under New York law.

Jun 21, 2023

A little magic, some swashbuckling and a ball

Cover of Newt's Emerald
A review of Newt's Emerald by Garth Nix

I stumbled across this young adult gem as a read-alike to Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen. A smart, exciting mix of Regency and fantasy, "Newt" refers to Lady Truthful Newington and her "emerald" is a magical heirloom stolen during a family party on her eighteenth birthday. The precious stone's properties are properly harnessed only by the owning family which puts the Newington's in peril of misfortune and possibly worse if the jewel gets into the wrong hands.

May 16, 2023

Getting feelings under control in the great outdoors

Cover of Highly Suspicious and Unfa
A review of Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Celine Bangura dreams of landing a coveted spot in a prestigious mentorship program. Her grades are tops and her popular conspiracy theory TikTok attracts thousands of followers. Unfortunately, there's one thing standing in her way: Bradley Graeme. Best friends for years, Celine and Brad parted ways when Brad wanted to expand his friendship circle and Celine felt heartbroken and left behind. Making matters worse, Bradley's friends treat Celine horribly.

May 1, 2023

Honoring narratives of the past

Cover of Kapaemahu
A review of Kapaemahu by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu, Dean Hamer and Joe Wilson

This picture book is based on a traditional Hawaiian story of an event that took place more than 700 years ago. The story of the healer stones of Kapaemahu has multiple versions and is a mix of history and legend. The picture book Kapaemahu is based on the earliest recorded version, written in Olelo Niihau and English.  

Apr 24, 2023

Unexpected blooming

Cover of The Inheritance of Orquí
A review of The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida Córdova

Orquídea Divina invites the multigenerational Montoya family to her home to celebrate her funeral. The catch is that Orquídea is still alive. The arrival of the magical invitations confuses many of her family members and dredges up painful memories for others. Everyone must attend the funeral in order to receive their inheritance and this strings-attached event is complicated on many levels. The land that Orquídea's home is situated on is infused with magic and the funeral proceedings are hampered by supernatural happenings.

Mar 27, 2023

It's a miracle he's alive

Cover of Friends, Lovers, and the B
A review of Friends, Lovers, and the Big Terrible Thing: A memoir by Matthew Perry

This book requires a certain mindset and I caution readers to prepare themselves for a memoir of alcoholism and addiction that is stunning in several ways. First, it's hard to believe that Matthew Perry, one of the stars of the television sitcom Friends, is still alive after everything his body has been through. Second, his candid sharing of stories about himself and others surprised me, and probably surprised those he spilled the beans about.

Mar 20, 2023

Pages