Attention: We are in the process of migrating to a new (and better!) newsletter service. Our newsletters will begin to come back online in October of 2018. We thank you for your patience as we migrated to our new email platform. We hope you find it worth the wait!

Back to top

Library Kids - February 23, 2018

Library Kids

Friday, February 23, 2018

 

Library Kids is Madison Public Library's email newsletter featuring news, events, and recommended books for kids PreK through grade 6.

February 23, 2018 Issue

In this issue:

 

 

Stop Motion Animation

Making Awesomeness

Kids can explore hands-on creative tools for building, creating, and playing at the library - from sock monsters to catapults, marble runs to treasure maps! Learn some new techniques and think creatively to make something awesome.

Take a look at all the exciting maker activities coming up at a library in your neighborhood.

 

2018 ALA Youth Media Awards

2018 ALA Youth Media Awards

The American Library Association (ALA) recently announced the 2018 Youth Media Award Winners, which honors top books, video and audio books for children and young adults, including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards at its Midwinter Meeting and Exhibits.

Some of the award-winners include:

Lucky Broken Girl by Ruth Behar
Hello Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly
Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell
Silent Days, Silent Dreams by Allen Say
La Princesa and the Pea by Susan Middleton Elya

You'll see many of these books featured below.

Learn more about the YMA Awards in our MADReads feature. 

 

Reframe the Name with Author Jaia Davis

Reframe the Name with Author Jaia Davis

Name calling hurts and bullying is painful. Come by Goodman South Madison Library on March 2 to hear local 10-year-old author Jaia Davis share how she coped with bullying. She'll provide tools for everyone, young and old, that will help them deal with bullies.

Reframe the Name with Jaia Davis, Author of I am F.A.T.
Friday, March 2 from 6:00-7:00pm 
Goodman South Madison Library

Family Fun Nights are funded by a gift from The Capital Times Kids Fund.

 

Upcoming Events

Find a complete event listing in our Spring Kidspages or find Chess ClubsKnitting ClubsLEGO ClubsMinecraft Clubs or Storytimes for ages 0-5

Family Movie Night: Wonder
Friday, February 23, 5:30-7:30pm - Lakeview Library

After Dinner Mints Movie: Hidden Figures
Friday, February 23, 6:30-8:30pm - Alicia Ashman Library

Kindness Rocks!
Saturday, February 24, 1:00-3:00pm - Goodman South Madison Library
Friday, March 2, 3:30-4:30pm - Alicia Ashman Library

Storytime for the Very Young
Tuesday, February 27, 11:30-12:15pm - Monroe Street Library
Wednesday, February 28, 9:30-10:00am - Central Library
Friday, March 2, 10:30-11:15am - Meadowridge Library

Anji Play Date
Wednesdays: February 28 - April 18 (EXCEPT 3/28), 10:30am-12:30pm - Lussier Community Center 

Open Drawing Studio & Closing Show with Artist-in-Residence: RADillustrates
Wednesday, February 28, 6:00-8:00pm - Central Library

Kids Code Madison
Thursdays: March 1-22, 6:00-7:30pm - Hawthorne Library

Toddler Art
Fridays: March 2 - March 16, 10:00am-11:00am - Central Library

Family Fun Night: Reframe the Name with Jaia Davis, author of I Am F.A.T.
Friday, March 2, 6:00-7:00pm - Goodman South Madison Library

Family Movie Night: The LEGO Batman Movie
Friday, March 9, 6:00-7:00pm - Goodman South Madison Library

Saturday Morning Cartooning
Saturday, March 10, 10:00-11:00am - Sequoya Library

LEGO Buildathon
Saturday, March 10, 10:30-11:30am - Lakeview Library

Saturday Family Matinee: LEGO NINJAGO
Saturday, March 10, 2:30-4:30pm - Pinney Library

Read and Make: Imagination Station with Mystery Boxes!
Monday, March 12, 2:30-3:30pm - Hawthorne Library

Screen-Printing with Lesley Numbers (A Bubbler Program)
Friday, March 16, 10:00-11:00am - Hawthorne Library

Makerpalooza: Stop Motion Animation
Saturday, March 17, 2:00-3:00pm - Pinney Library

 

Tablet Tips

Tablet Tips

Looking for more incentives to snuggle? If you’ve got a wiggly kid, it’s often difficult for them to sit still long enough to share a whole book. Try cuddling up with a good book app instead! Like a pop-up book, they often have just enough interactivity to keep your busy child engaged. One of the most beloved bedtime story apps is Nighty-Night by Fox & Sheep.

Take a look at Carissa's App Picks for Kids reviews and subscribe to her e-newsletter to get regular app reviews sent straight to your inbox!

 

New Books

 

 

Charlie & Mouse
by Laurel Snyder

 

Four hilarious stories, two inventive brothers, one irresistible book! Join Charlie and Mouse as they talk to lumps, take the neighborhood to a party, sell some rocks and invent the bedtime banana. With imagination and humour, Laurel Snyder and Emily Hughes paint a lively picture of brotherhood that children will relish in a format perfect for children not quite ready for chapter books.

 

 

 

Hello Universe
by Erin Entrada Kelly

 

Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two girls--the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero).

 

 

 

La Princesa and the Pea
by Susan Middleton Elya

 

Readers will be enchanted by this Latino twist on the classic story, and captivated by the vibrant art inspired by the culture of Peru. Incorporates Spanish words and includes a glossary.

 

 

 

Lucky Broken Girl
by Ruth Behar

 

In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative--based on the author's childhood in the 1960s--a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed. Ruthie's plight will intrigue readers, and her powerful story of strength and resilience, full of color, light, and poignancy, will stay with them for a long time.

 

 

 

Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess
by Shari Green

 

Olivia has been Macy McMillan's best friend ever since Macy transferred to Hamiliton Elementary from Braeside School for the Deaf. But then their sixth grade teacher assigned that embarrassing family tree project, and Olivia made a joke about Macy's father, and now neither girl is speaking--signing--to the other. With her mother getting married and an ugly For Sale sign jammed into their yard, Macy could really use a best friend right now.

 

 

 

The Murderer's Ape
by Jakob Wegelius

 

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories.

 

 

 

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets
by Kwame Alexander

 

Out of gratitude for the poet's art form, Newbery Award-winning author and poet Kwame Alexander, present original poems that pay homage to twenty famed poets who have made the authors' hearts sing and their minds wonder. Stunning mixed-media images by Ekua Holmes, winner of a Caldecott Honor and a John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award, complete the celebration and invite the reader to listen, wonder, and perhaps even pick up a pen.

 

 

 

Silent days, Silent Dreams
by Allen Say

 

James Castle was born two months premature on September 25, 1899, on a farm in Garden Valley, Idaho. He was deaf, mute, autistic, and probably dyslexic. Today Castle's artwork hangs in major museums throughout the world. Caldecott Medal winner Allen Say takes readers through an imagined look at Castle's childhood, allows them to experience his emergence as an artist despite the overwhelming difficulties he faced, and ultimately reveals the triumphs that he would go on to achieve.

 

 

 

Twelve Days in May: Freedom Ride 1961
by Larry Dane Brimner

 

For twelve history-making days in May 1961, thirteen black and white civil rights activists, also known as the Freedom Riders, traveled by bus into the South to draw attention to the unconstitutional segregation still taking place. Despite their peaceful protests, the Freedom Riders were met with increasing violence the further south they traveled.

 

 

 

Wolf in the Snow
by Matthew Cordell

 

Paintings rich with feeling tell this satisfying story of friendship and trust. Here is a book set on a wintry night that will spark imaginations and warm hearts.