Back to top

Events Calendar

Please note that this calendar only contains library programs. For room availability, please contact the appropriate library directly.

Looking for a specific event? Try our Events Search page.

Saturday, October 19, 2019

Time Items
All day
 
9am
Madison Traditional Gaming

Madison Traditional Gaming

Community Room
Saturday, Oct 19, 9:00am to 5:00pm

In search of adventure? Have a desire to explore the unknown? If so, be sure to join the Madison Traditional Gaming group here at the Hawthorne Branch Library. Madison Traditional Gaming is all about traditional role-playing games such as Original Dungeons & Dragons, AD&D, Classic Traveller, Labyrinth Lord, and more!

Community Room
 
Friends of the Madison Public Library Book Sale

Friends of the Madison Public Library Book Sale

Saturday, Oct 19, 9:00am to 9:00pm

Thousands of gently used books, DVDs and other materials, featuring a selection of books for every age and interest. Most items are $2 or less. Hosted by the Friends of the Madison Public Library. Sale runs October 17-20 in conjunction with the Wisconsin Book Festival. Sale hours: Thursday, October 17, 9 am - 9 pm, Friday, October 18, 9 am - 9 pm, Saturday, October 19, 9 am - 9 pm; Sunday, October 20, 10:30 am - 3 pm (bag sale 1-3pm, $5/bag).

 
Wisconsin Book Festival - Day 3

Wisconsin Book Festival - Day 3

Saturday, Oct 19, 9:00am to 9:30pm

The third day of Wisconsin's premier literary event. The Festival offers opportunities to meet authors, discover new books or favorite writers, and have books signed at locations around Madison. Join a live filming for C-Span2's Book TV on the third floor of the Central Library on Saturday!

You can learn more and see the full schedule at https://www.wisconsinbookfestival.org.

 
10am
Ancient Earthworks Society Series
Meeting Room 115
 
Yoga Sprouts

Yoga Sprouts

Saturday, Oct 19, 10:00am to 10:45am

Children ages 2-5 years and their caregivers are invited to join Yoga Sprouts Instructor, Katie Muschlewski for a fun family class! Please bring a towel or yoga mat for yourself and your child.

 
IRENA SENDLER: In the Name of Their Mothers

IRENA SENDLER: In the Name of Their Mothers

Meeting Room
Saturday, Oct 19, 10:00am to 12:00pm

October is Polish American Heritage Month. To celebrate the Polish Heritage Club of Madison, WI and the Alicia Ashman Public Library are showing the movie: Irena Sendler: In the Name of their Mothers.

Winner of the Best Documentary Audience Award, UK Jewish Film Fesival, the film tels the story of 29-year-old Irena Sendler who saw the suffering of Warsaw's Jews and reached out to her most trusted colleagues to help and outwitted the Nazis during World War II. Together they rescued over 2500 Jewish children.

This film expertly captures the will and character of the women of the resistance against the backdrop of occupied Poland.

This 2011 documentary was directed by Mary Skinner and stars Irena Sendlerowa and Jan Becker.

Display and refreshments provided by Madison's Polish Heritage Club.

Meeting Room
 
Project Amplify

Project Amplify

Media Lab
Saturday, Oct 19, 10:00am to 11:30am

Want to learn the ins and outs of music recording, hip-hop, rap, spoken word, and more? Join UW-Madison Music Education Students at Madison Public Library's state-of-the-art recording studio to learn about music outside of band, choir, and orchestra with local guest artists!

Completely free and open to anyone of High-School age. Attendees are encouraged but not required to attend all sessions.

For more information contact: MADISONPROJECTAMPLIFY@GMAIL.COM

Media Lab
 
Dream Bus at C.H. Bird Elementary

Dream Bus at C.H. Bird Elementary

C.H. Bird Elementary School (1170 N. Bird St, Sun Prairie)
Saturday, Oct 19, 10:00am to 12:00pm

Get a library card, browse and check out materials, return items, place and pick up holds, and use the free WiFi.

C.H. Bird Elementary School (1170 N. Bird St, Sun Prairie)
 
10am
Bilingual Storytime

Bilingual Storytime

Saturday, Oct 19, 10:30am to 11:15am

¡Acompáñenos para cuentos, canciones, y actividades en inglés y español, enfocados en la alfabetización temprana y el idioma española! Para niños de 2 a 6 años de edad y sus familias.

Stories, songs, and activities in English and Spanish to build early literacy and Spanish language awareness, For Spanish speakers and non-Spanish speakers, ages 2-6 yrs old (siblings welcome). Storytime will take place in the Hawthorne Library Children's Area.

 
1pm
Drop-In Basic Computer Help

Drop-In Basic Computer Help

Saturday, Oct 19, 1:00pm to 5:00pm

Get help with basic computer questions: email, printing, filling out online forms, etc.

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays: 1-5 pm

Drop-in computer help is a partnership between Madison Public library and WISE, Wisconsin Senior Employment Program

 
Meeting Room 115
 
Open Media Lab

Open Media Lab

Media Lab
Saturday, Oct 19, 1:00pm to 4:00pm

The Media Lab at Central Library is a free space to explore digital media production in the realms of stop motion animation, 3D world design, green screen video, audio design and graphic design. Drop in and explore the lab or work on projects with the expertise of our media lab staff.

Lab Staff For Today:
Bradley DLO- Expertise in beat making and audio recording

Children 12 and under must be accompanied by an adult.

The Bubbler and the Media Lab are supported by grants from Madison Public Library Foundations and The Friends of the Madison Public Library.

Media Lab
 
1pm
Goodman South Book Club - Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan

Goodman South Book Club - Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan

Green Room 103
Saturday, Oct 19, 1:30pm to 3:00pm

Come join the book club for lively, thoughtful discussions of our monthly book selection.

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

Everyone welcome to our public group. Please find our books for the club next to the hold shelf.

Green Room 103
 
Madison Writing Assistance: General and Job-Related Writing Help

Madison Writing Assistance: General and Job-Related Writing Help

Aqua Room 128
Saturday, Oct 19, 1:30pm to 4:30pm

Free one-on-one coaching sessions for writing projects of any kind, including school assignments, resumes and cover letters, personal letters, applications, forms, newsletters, articles, memoirs, poems and absolutely any other kinds of writing.

Appointments for writing assistance may be made the week of assistance. Call 266-6395 to make a 45-minute appointment. Due to high demand, you are encouraged to call as soon as the library opens (Tuesdays at 10 a.m., or Saturdays at 9 a.m.)

Madison Writing Assistance is a free service is provided by the UW-Madison Writing Center and is made possible through the generous support of the Evjue Foundation, the UW Anonymous Fund, Altrusa Internaional of Madison and the UW-Madison Writing Center.

Aqua Room 128
 
Home History Workshop

Home History Workshop

Meeting Rooms A & B Combined
Saturday, Oct 19, 1:30pm to 3:30pm

Have you ever wondered about the history of your house? When it was built? Who lived there previously? What assessments, repairs, building permits have been made over time? At this workshop, Ann Waidelich, an expert in the field, will describe how you can go about conducting research about your home. The workshop is presented by the Dudgeon Monroe Neighborhood Association History Committee.

Meeting Rooms A & B Combined
 
2pm
Family Movie Matinee: LEGO Movie

Family Movie Matinee: LEGO Movie

Community Room - Fireplace Side
Saturday, Oct 19, 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Join us at the library for a full-length family movie. We'll provide the popcorn!
"LEGO Movie"
An ordinary LEGO construction worker, thought to be the prophesied "special," is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil tyrant from gluing the LEGO universe into eternal stasis.
Rated PG.

Community Room - Fireplace Side