A review of Monstrous by MarcyKate Connolly

Monstrous by MarcyKate Connolly is a story of a girl with no one besides her father, a scientist that created her for a greater purpose, who she adores and tries to please above all else. For there's something special about Kymera- she is a perfect combination of human, bird, cat and snake. As the reader experiences Kymera's expanding understanding of the world, there's a growing sense of unease that things aren't what she's been led to believe. Kymera is isolated from the more

Reviewed by Carrie on
October 6, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Door in the Hedge and In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Robin McKinley and Cat Winters

The next Big Library Read from Wisconsin's Digital Library, OverDrive, will run from October 7-21, 2015, and for the first time ever, the Big Library Read will include two titles: The Door in the Hedge by Robin McKinley and In the Shadow of Blackbirds more

Reviewed by Molly - Central on
October 5, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the Prison of Belief by Lawrence Wright

I picked up this book because the entirety of what I knew about Scientology came from check-out line tabloids. Lawrence Wright accomplished an incredible amount of research on the topic, especially considering the shroud of mystery behind which much of the religion resides. Going Clear provides one of the most comprehensive biographies of L. Ron Hubbard in existence, and I was fascinated to learn what a prolific, accomplished, dynamic--and maybe certifiably insane--leader he was. And more

Reviewed by Carra on
October 1, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick deWitt

A few years ago, a little known (at the time) Canadian author named Patrick deWitt made a literary splash when his second novel, The Sisters Brothers, was shortlisted for the prestigious Man Booker award. The novel, a sly sendup of the western genre, depicted the eponymous brothers on their quest to carry out a contract killing amidst a cast of very peculiar characters, was a favorite here at MPL too (read librarian Katharine’s take on it more

Reviewed by Katie H. on
September 29, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of A Great and Terrible King: Edward I and the Forging of Britain by Marc Morris

Like many people I have enjoyed the Tudors, whether by reading books dramatizing the period such as those by Philippa Gregory or Hilary Mantel or fact based biographies such as those by Alison Weir and on to the various films or television shows. But I have to admit too that with all of English history I often wish for something different to be covered. With Marc Morris's book I got my wish and then some. The Britain we know now or even that of Tudor times would not exist if not for the reign more

Reviewed by Liz - Sequoya on
September 28, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Brimsby’s Hats by Andrew Prahin

Brimsby is a hatmaker.  Each day, his friend (a badger) comes to visit and they share a pot of tea until one day the friend announces that he has decided to pursue his lifelong dream of becoming a sea captain. Who will Brimsby talk to and share tea with now? The author answers this question with a very real-world solution--new friends are found, old friendships are still treasured and maintained, even though contact is less frequent. Soft sorbet colors and bold, cartoony drawings set the more

Reviewed by Carissa - Alicia Ashman on
September 25, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Girl in Dior by Annie Goetzinger

"In a machine age, dressmaking is one of the last refuges of the human, the personal, the inimitable." -- Christian Dior This graphic novel is gorgeous. Truly gorgeous. Girl in Dior is the fictional narrative of a young fashion chronicler named Clara Nohant and how she covers the premiere show of the brand new fashion house of Christian Dior on February 12, 1947. Clara becomes a muse and model for Dior and over the next decade travels the world and is exposed to the rich, the more

Reviewed by Molly - Central on
September 24, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney

Fans of Brown Girl Dreaming and Inside Out and Back Again will enjoy The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney. Written in free verse, this book deals with issues of identity through the eyes of a preadolescent girl. Amira lives an idyllic life with her family in Darfur, until her village is attacked by the Janjaweed militia. Neither her home nor her family survives intact, and Amira has to adapt to new ways of survival in her new reality. The Red Pencil tells more

Reviewed by Rachel on
September 23, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

The book The Walled City by Ryan Graudin, is a dark and gripping story based loosely on the real Kowloon Walled City that used to exist (until 1994) in Hong Kong, China. This city was the densest settlement on the planet, boasting 33,000 people trying to live in the space of one city block. This led to some interesting developments: buildings were stacked on top of each other over and over again, the Triad gangs controlled dens of prostitution and gambling, and citizens more

Reviewed by Carrie on
September 21, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Edmond, the Moonlit Party by Astrid Desbordes

This delightful, colorful book by Astrid Desbordes is extra-charming because of its celebration of various personality types. We meet Edmond, a shy squirrel living in a tree; his downstairs neighbor, a party-loving bear; and his upstairs neighbor, an owl with a penchant for elaborate costumes. With a smattering of degrees of social anxiety, Edmond and his neighbors demonstrate the value of differing personality types at a party, not to mention nothing-tarts and pretending to be wearing a more

Reviewed by Carra on
September 18, 2015 | 1 comment
Syndicate content