MADreads

A review of Gone Crazy in Alabama by Rita Williams-Garcia

The Gaither Sisters are back! Gone Crazy in Alabama is the final book in Rita Williams-Garcia’s trilogy, which began with One Crazy Summer and P.S. Be Eleven. Each one is a truly excellent book for the older elementary/middle school set (and for kid lit enthusiasts). After having spent the previous summer at Black Panther day camp (as detailed in One Crazy Summer) Delphine and her sisters are off to spend their vacation ...read more

Reviewed by Rachel on
October 27, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney

Fans of Brown Girl Dreaming and Inside Out and Back Again will enjoy The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney. Written in free verse, this book deals with issues of identity through the eyes of a preadolescent girl. Amira lives an idyllic life with her family in Darfur, until her village is attacked by the Janjaweed militia. Neither her home nor her family survives intact, and Amira has to adapt to new ways of survival in her new reality. The Red Pencil tells ...read more

Reviewed by Rachel on
September 23, 2015 | 0 comments