MADreads for Kids

A review of I Can Roar by Frank Asch

“I Can Roar” is one of Frank Asch’s newest books and it is adorable.  There are pages and pages of various animals, one per page, with a large circle cutout so you can hold it up to your face and make oodles of animal noises.  It is great fun.  I tried this at a daycare and had to be careful not to frighten the young ones with my enthusiasm. I just toned it down a bit…but with your own child it will be a hoot!  You could also sit in front of a mirror and hold it up to your more

Reviewed by Lesley K on
November 20, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan

Don't let the hefty size of the book deter you from accompanying an enchanted harmonica through the years as it enters and leaves the lives of four children. Think of it as beautifully crafted short stories that are bound together in one novel. The writing will draw you into the issues of the times such as, the beginning of the Holocaust in Germany, the Great Depression and the effects of WWII in California.  You will rally for the characters and hope that luck and good fortune is in their more

Reviewed by Jody on
November 13, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson

Jackson Greene is the James Bond of Maplewood Middle School; when you have a problem, he's the guy to see.  Everyone still buzzes about jobs like the Blitz at the Fitz and the Shakedown at Shimmering Hills, but after the unexpected fallout from the Midday PDA, Jackson Greene is out of the biz, OUT!  Now his ex-best basketball buddy (and ex-almost girlfriend) is the only candidate for student president left running against Maplewood's richest and meanest kid, Keith Sinclair. Keith's more

Reviewed by Abby on
November 6, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Just Itzy by Lana Krumwiede

Itzy the spider is starting spindergarten and is eager to shed his baby nickname, Itzy Bitzy.  To prove he’s no longer a little spiderling, he needs to spin a web and catch his own lunch.  He tries several different locations, but keeps running into problems; a girl on a tuffet screams and scares the fly away, an old lady accidently swallows him, and the rain washes him right out of the water spout!  Children will easily identify with Itzy’s desire to be more grown up, and will more

Reviewed by Jill O on
October 23, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Mummy Cat by Marcus Ewert

In a pyramid in Egypt, a mummy rises every hundred years. But don’t worry, this mummy isn’t scary. He’s a cat, and had been the pet of a pharaoh queen long years ago. Now he wakes up every hundred years and walks the hall to see if his friend, the mummy, has awakened. And one cold night, each century,he gets up, and check to seeif she’s come back, his loving friend…so that this lonely time can end. Beautiful illustrations show off ancient Egyptian life in this richly detailed picture more

Reviewed by Tina - Central on
October 16, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Monstrous by MarcyKate Connolly

Monstrous by MarcyKate Connolly is a story of a girl with no one besides her father, a scientist that created her for a greater purpose, who she adores and tries to please above all else. For there's something special about Kymera- she is a perfect combination of human, bird, cat and snake. As the reader experiences Kymera's expanding understanding of the world, there's a growing sense of unease that things aren't what she's been led to believe. Kymera is isolated from the more

Reviewed by Carrie on
October 6, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Brimsby’s Hats by Andrew Prahin

Brimsby is a hatmaker.  Each day, his friend (a badger) comes to visit and they share a pot of tea until one day the friend announces that he has decided to pursue his lifelong dream of becoming a sea captain. Who will Brimsby talk to and share tea with now? The author answers this question with a very real-world solution--new friends are found, old friendships are still treasured and maintained, even though contact is less frequent. Soft sorbet colors and bold, cartoony drawings set the more

Reviewed by Carissa - Alicia Ashman on
September 25, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney

Fans of Brown Girl Dreaming and Inside Out and Back Again will enjoy The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney. Written in free verse, this book deals with issues of identity through the eyes of a preadolescent girl. Amira lives an idyllic life with her family in Darfur, until her village is attacked by the Janjaweed militia. Neither her home nor her family survives intact, and Amira has to adapt to new ways of survival in her new reality. The Red Pencil tells more

Reviewed by Rachel on
September 23, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Edmond, the Moonlit Party by Astrid Desbordes

This delightful, colorful book by Astrid Desbordes is extra-charming because of its celebration of various personality types. We meet Edmond, a shy squirrel living in a tree; his downstairs neighbor, a party-loving bear; and his upstairs neighbor, an owl with a penchant for elaborate costumes. With a smattering of degrees of social anxiety, Edmond and his neighbors demonstrate the value of differing personality types at a party, not to mention nothing-tarts and pretending to be wearing a more

Reviewed by Carra on
September 18, 2015 | 1 comment
A review of Tangled Up! More than 40 Creative Prompts, Patterns, and Projects for the Tangler in You by Penny Raile

Too rainy for outdoor play? Are your kids bored with the usual after school activities? For those tweens and teens that love to color, create or doodle, this is a great way to work those creative muscles. Using official tangles to create Zentangle Inspired Art, Raile covers all the basics, the art tools needed, the patterns with step-by-step instructions, and she shares many creative applications and variations on the tangles.  She has divided the book into various types of tangles - more

Reviewed by Karen on
September 11, 2015 | 0 comments