MADreads for Kids

A review of Brimsby’s Hats by Andrew Prahin

Brimsby is a hatmaker.  Each day, his friend (a badger) comes to visit and they share a pot of tea until one day the friend announces that he has decided to pursue his lifelong dream of becoming a sea captain. Who will Brimsby talk to and share tea with now? The author answers this question with a very real-world solution--new friends are found, old friendships are still treasured and maintained, even though contact is less frequent. Soft sorbet colors and bold, cartoony drawings set the more

Reviewed by Carissa - Alicia Ashman on
September 25, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney

Fans of Brown Girl Dreaming and Inside Out and Back Again will enjoy The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney. Written in free verse, this book deals with issues of identity through the eyes of a preadolescent girl. Amira lives an idyllic life with her family in Darfur, until her village is attacked by the Janjaweed militia. Neither her home nor her family survives intact, and Amira has to adapt to new ways of survival in her new reality. The Red Pencil tells more

Reviewed by Rachel on
September 23, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Edmond, the Moonlit Party by Astrid Desbordes

This delightful, colorful book by Astrid Desbordes is extra-charming because of its celebration of various personality types. We meet Edmond, a shy squirrel living in a tree; his downstairs neighbor, a party-loving bear; and his upstairs neighbor, an owl with a penchant for elaborate costumes. With a smattering of degrees of social anxiety, Edmond and his neighbors demonstrate the value of differing personality types at a party, not to mention nothing-tarts and pretending to be wearing a more

Reviewed by Carra on
September 18, 2015 | 1 comment
A review of Tangled Up! More than 40 Creative Prompts, Patterns, and Projects for the Tangler in You by Penny Raile

Too rainy for outdoor play? Are your kids bored with the usual after school activities? For those tweens and teens that love to color, create or doodle, this is a great way to work those creative muscles. Using official tangles to create Zentangle Inspired Art, Raile covers all the basics, the art tools needed, the patterns with step-by-step instructions, and she shares many creative applications and variations on the tangles.  She has divided the book into various types of tangles - more

Reviewed by Karen on
September 11, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Yard Sale by Eve Bunting

Sometimes a yard sale can mean discovering marvelous treasures, fun times with parents or loved ones, or simply a summer day activity. But for Callie, the young protagonist in Yard Sale by Eve Bunting (Candlewick, 2015), it means that she has to give away all of her beloved things and move to a small apartment. Callie watches as a lady buys her bed “with crayon marks on it” and sees a man loading up her favorite red bike onto his truck. In Callie, we see (and feel) the heartache of leaving more

Reviewed by Tracy on
September 4, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins

Rude cakes never say please or thank you. They never listen. In short, they have terrible manners. In this book, watch what happens when a rude cake meets a well-mannered giant cyclops. Accompanied by lovely whimsical illustrations of a mis-behaving cake and the adventures they gets into, this is a fantastic and fantastical book that I didn’t know I needed until I saw it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Seriously, it's the cutest little thing. Take a look! more

Reviewed by Tina - Central on
August 28, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Creative Kids Complete Photo Guide to Sewing by Janith Bergeron

What’s the next “new thing”? Something Great Grandma probably did often: sewing! Sewing is making a major comeback. New stitching fans are drawn to the sense of self-expression, independence and personal authenticity. Trying to figure out where to begin when guiding a young person who expresses an interest in sewing? The Complete Photo Guide to Sewing is an excellent resource. The initial chapters focus on hand sewing to familiarize kids with the mechanics. Generous sidebar boxes more

Reviewed by Ruth on
August 22, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Americanine: A Haute Dog of New York by Yann Kebbi

Where do I begin? This is a sophisticated, oversized picture book that is told from the point of view of a French dog who returns to Paris after visiting New York. The illustrations are bold, colored pencil renderings of NYC that are so accurate and frenetic you know exactly where you are, like Grand Central Station or Central Park, but they're also somewhat dreamy and impressionistic. The author's note explains that the book was illustrated from memory from his days living as a student in New more

Reviewed by Molly - Central on
August 17, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Binny for Short by Hilary McKay

This is a summer book. A perfect, dreamy, hazy, charming and smart summer book. Everybody, young and old, should grab a copy and sprawl out on the lawn and read it right now, because fall will be upon us before we know it. The Cornwallis family has been through a lot. Mr Cornwallis died unexpectedly, and the rest of the boisterous family was displaced to a cramped apartment. To add insult to injury eleven-year-old Binny’s beloved dog was shuffled between relatives in the chaos, and then old more

Reviewed by Beth on
August 14, 2015 | 0 comments
A review of Hansel & Gretel : a Toon graphic by Neil Gaiman

Any fans of Neil Gaiman should probably check this out. It's the standard story of Hansel and Gretel, the woodcutter's children who are left in the woods when then the family is hit by hard times. One night Hansel hears his parents, worried over their lack of food, discuss leaving him and his sister in the woods. Being resourceful and forewarned, Hansel uses whites stones to guide the pair back to the arms of their parents. However, there is still not enough food and again they are led off into more

Reviewed by Tina - Central on
August 7, 2015 | 0 comments