Library Kids - March 25, 2016

Friday, March 25, 2016

Library Kids is Madison Public Library's email newsletter featuring news, events, and recommended books for kids PreK through grade 6.

March 25, 2016 Issue

In this issue:

Featured Events 

 

Red, White & READ!

Celebrate the joy of reading with University of Wisconsin students and student-athletes at this year's Red, White & READ event!

Bring the whole family to read with UW student-athletes, check out books and more at this event sponsored by the UW Student United Way and Student-Athletes Equally Supporting Others (SAESO). You may even get to meet Bucky, that is, if he's not too busy cheering on the Badger basketball teams!

 

MeeperBOTS take over Library LEGO CLubs!

Make your LEGO creation into a moveable masterpiece with meeperBOTS! Staff from Wisconsin's own Meeper Technology will be on hand at selected Library LEGO Clubs this month to introduce meeperBOTS, the "most full-featured, versatile motor-controlled toys on the planet."  Simply build your LEGO creation, connect your meeperBOT to the free dowloadable app, and drive! We'll bring the LEGOS, the BOTS, and some Bluetooth-enabled devices to demo: what will you create?

Want to get a look at the free app ahead of time? Download here from Google Play or the Apple App Store and get ready to add a whole new dimension to your traditional brick-block play! We'll be using the Library's BOTS, but if you must have your own, the Meeper Technology staff will have additional MeeperBOTS available for purchase after we play.

 

Upcoming Events

Find Storytimes for Ages 0-5 here
Find Chess Clubs here
Find Knitting Clubs here
Find LEGO Clubs here

Donuts with Dad
Saturday, March 26, 10 am - Sequoya Library [more info]
Saturday, April 9, 10 am - Alicia Ashman Library [more info]

Spanish Storytime with Marisol
Saturday, March 26, 10 am - 10:30 am - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]

Family Movie Matinee: The Good Dinosaur
Saturday, March 26, 12 pm - 1:45 pm - Hawthorne Library [more info]

Pinney and Sequoya Libraries CLOSED
Sunday, March 27 (Easter Sunday)

Central Library is OPEN!
Sunday, March 27 (Easter Sunday), 1 pm - 5 pm (with LEGO Club at 2:30!) [more info]

Crafternoon
Monday, March 28, 2:30 pm - Sequoya Library [more info/register]

Minecraft @ the Library
Mondays, March 28 & April 4, 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]
Tuesday, March 29 & April 5, 4 pm - 6 pm - Central Library [more info]
Saturday, April 9, 1 pm - 3 pm - Central Library [more info]

Free English Class for Parents / Classes de Inglés Gratuitas para Padres
Tuesdays, March 29 & April 5, 12:30 pm - 2 pm - Central Library [more info]
Thursdays, March 31 & April 7, 12:30 pm - 2 pm - Central Library [more info]

Pokémon Club
Wednesday, March 30, 3:30 pm - 5 pm - Hawthorne Library [more info]

“Toddlers In Motion” with Miss Cindy
Thursdays, March 31 & April 7, 9:30 am - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]
Thursday, March 31 & April 7, 10:35 am - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]
Monday, April 4, 10 am - Central Library [more info]

Preschool English & Hmong Storytime
Thursdays, March 31 & April 7, 9:30 am - Bayview Community Center [more info]

Family Fun Night: A Celebration of Earth with Clare Norelle
Friday, April 1, 6:30 pm - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]

Big I, Little U: Fitness for the Whole Family
Saturday, April 2, 11:30 am - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]

Music Together
Tuesday, April 5, 10:30 am - Lakeview Library [more info]

Nail Art Club
Thursday, April 7, 3 pm - 5 pm, Meadowridge Library [more info]

Family Fun Night: Family Movie Night (The Lion King)
Friday, April 8, 6:30 pm - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]

Super Saturdays (with Marisol Gonzalez) / Super Sábados (con Marisol Gonzalez)
Saturday, April 9, 2 pm - 3:30 pm - Goodman South Madison Library [more info]

 

New Books

Firelight (Amulet, Book Seven)
by Kazu Kibuishi

The long-awaited seventh installment of the Amulet graphic novel! Emily, Trellis, and Vigo visit Algos Island, where they can access and enter lost memories. They're hoping to uncover the events of Trellis's mysterious childhood -- knowledge they can use against the Elf King. What they discover is a dark secret that changes everything. Meanwhile, the Voice of Emily's Amulet is getting stronger, and threatens to overtake her completely!

The Last Boy at St Edith's
by Lee Gjertsen Malone

Seventh-grader Jeremy Miner is the only boy left after St Edith's Academy’s brief experiment in co-education. And he needs to get out. But his mother—a teacher at the school—won’t let him transfer, so Jeremy takes matters into his own hands: he’s going to get expelled.

Paper Wishes
by Lois Sepahban

Near the start of World War II, ten-year-old Manami, her parents, and Grandfather are evacuated from their home and sent to Manzanar, an ugly, dreary internment camp in the desert for Japanese-American citizens.

Shhh! This Book Is Sleeping!
by Cedric Remadier

Hold this board book gently because it’s very sleepy! A mouse inside the pages invites you to read the book a bedtime story, tuck it in with a cozy blanket, and give it a hug and a kiss. Fans of Press Here and The Monster at the End of This Book will enjoy coaxing the very book they’re holding to go to sleep.

Super Happy Magic Forest
by Matty Long

When the Mystical Crystals of Life are stolen from the Super Happy Magic Forest--where everybody parties all the time--five unlikely heroes are chosen to go on a quest to retrieve them. Reluctant readers will roar for the cartoon illustrations and even adults will chuckle at silly speech bubbles in this romp for ages 4 and up.

¡Olinguito, de la A a la Z! : Descubriendo el Bosque Nublado / Olinguito, from A to Z! : Unveiling the Cloud Forest
by Lulu Delacre

With lyrical text in both Spanish and English, we travel to the magical world of a cloud forest in the Andes of Ecuador. Not to be confused with your toddler's ABC book, this alphabet works as an organizing feature and provides children with a vehicle to encounter rich vocabulary as they learn about a unique environment. Thoroughly researched and exquisitely illustrated with colorful, realistic images, the book is a visual delight while it provides a wealth of information for readers age 5 and up.