LexisNexis Library Express

LearningExpress Library welcome screen
LexisNexis Library Express

Access over 9,500 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and foreign-language sources. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria.

News

  • Partial coverage of Wisconsin State Journal, one day delayed.  Includes obituaries, announcements and all licensed content, but no advertisements, images, or online content.
  • Full-text of more than 1,000 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, plus extensive archives going back over 25 years for some publications. Coverage includes national papers such as the New York Times and Washington Post, regional U.S. papers, and a wide range of English- and foreign-language papers from around the world.
  • More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, including: American Journalism Review, The Economist, Library Journal, New Republic, Newsweek, and Variety
  • Hard-to-find broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks, including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR, as well as political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences.
  • Wire services, updated several times a day, including respected names such as the Associated Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire

Business News & Trade Publications

LexisNexis Library Express provides a full range of credible sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.

This information may be helpful for small business owners, people conducting market or competitive research, investors researching company information and financial indicators, as well as individuals preparing for job interviews.

  • News sources include Accountancy Age, Advertising Age, Consumer Electronics, Business & Finance Magazine, Design Week, IPO Reporter, Mergers and Acquisitions Reports, and more.
  • Financial information sources include Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions, Hoover's Company and Industry Reports, Disclosure Reports, International company and stock reports, and more.
  • SEC filings and reports include SEC 10-Q, 10-K, 20-F Reports; SEC Annual Reports to Shareholders; Proxy Statements; Prospectuses; Registration; Williams Act Filings.

Legal Research

Access primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations or dive into secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic. Legal research sources include:

  • Law review articles from over 500 publications
  • Legal news from more than 300 legal newspapers, magazines, and newsletters
  • U.S. Supreme Court decisions from January 1790 to present, searchable by majority opinion, minority opinion, concurring opinion, counsel, or headnotes
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals decisions
  • U.S. District Court decisions from 1789 to present
  • Decisions from Bankruptcy Courts; U.S. Court of International Trade; Tax Courts; Courts of Customs and Patent Appeals, and Veterans, Commerce, and Military Courts
  • State court decisions at all court levels for all 50 states and territories
  • Federal regulations: Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and Federal Acquisition Regulations and Supplements
  • Codes for all 50 states and territories, plus constitutions, court rules, and Attorneys General opinions
  • The IRS bulletin, IRS regulations, ABA Tax Lawyer, AICPA Tax Adviser, and more
  • Patents from 1971 forward, searchable by keyword, patent number, classification number, lawyer, assignee, inventor, or summary
  • European Union law from the CELEX database and international case law from a number of other countries
  • Law school directories, including the Martindale-Hubbell Law School Directory and NALP National Directory of Law Schools

Note: LexisNexis Library Express does not offer "shepardizing" of cases.

Availability: 
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.
Troubleshooting: 
Note: Only the News and Business portions of the database are accessible outside the library - the Legal portion of the database is only accessible inside a Madison Public Library location.  You will need to enter your 14-digit library card number TWICE during the login process when using outside the library.  Use Help & Instructions section to navigate content, find coverage information, or learn a section of the site with video tutorials.
For more information, assistance, or to schedule a demo, please contact: 
Madison Public Library - Central Library
608-266-6350

Funded by Madison Public Library.